DRSC Logo

 

 

Organisation and Objectives

 

 

1 Overview
2 The ASCG
2.1 General Information
2.2 Objectives of the ASCG
2.3 The Governing Bodies and Standing Committees of the ASCG
2.3.1 The General Assembly
2.3.2 The Administrative Board
2.3.3 The Nomination Committee
2.3.4 The Executive Committee
2.3.5 The IFRS and German GAAP Committees
2.3.6 The Academic Advisory Board





1. Overview

In November 1995, the European Commission passed its accounting strategy and, by doing so, set the course for the future accounting in Europe. Thereby, the stated goal is to develop a competitive European capital market. In context with these strategies, multiple measures were taken and statements were published in subsequent years.

The increasing importance of international capital markets for German companies and groups induced the German legislator already in 1998 to open up possibilities for an in-creased convergence of German Accounting Standards to international principles. To en-sure a greater flexibility for the further development of financial accounting and its fast ad-justment to new requirements, a private committee comprising independent experts should operate as desired by the legislator. This should advance the development of accounting principles as a function of autonomous administration by an independent standard setter. § 342 of the German Commercial Code (HGB) provides the legal basis for such an institution.

The Accounting Standards Committee of Germany (ASCG) was established as national standardisation organisation, which was recognised as private accounting committee ac-cording to § 342 of the German Commercial Code (HGB) by the Federal Ministry of Justice with contract of 3 September 1998. With the standardisation agreement of 2 December 2011, the Accounting Standards Committee of Germany (ASCG) was once again recog-nised as responsible standardisation organisation for Germany by the Federal Ministry of Justice. In its standardisation agreement, the ASCG commits to provide an independent accounting body (the committees), to pass it the tasks according to § 342 of the German Commercial Code and to finance it.

 


2. The ASCG

2.1. General Information

The Accounting Standards Committee of Germany (ASCG) was established in 1998 as standardisation organisation and has since then been the institution carrying the technical committees. The ASCG is a registered, not-for-profit association domiciled in Berlin.

 

 

2.2. Objectives of the ASCG

According to the Constitution of the ASCG, the association's work pursues the following :

  1. The objectives of the Association are, in the general economic interest,

    1. to develop recommendations for the application of principles for consolidated financial reporting;

    2. to provide advice on planned legislation on accounting regulations at national and EU level;

    3. to represent the Federal Republic of Germany in international accounting and financial reporting bodies;

    4. to develop Interpretations of the international accounting standards within the meaning of section 315a(1) of the German Commercial Code (HGB);

    5. to enhance the quality of accounting and financial reporting;

    6. to promote research and education in the above-mentioned areas.

  2. The Association serves the aims of its members under the Constitution within the framework of its own objectives. It fulfils its objectives as a professional association for its members.

  3. The Association acts in a non-profit capacity. The generation of profit is not its primary objective. It may only use revenue from the exploitation of its work for the objectives set out in the Constitution.

  4. The Association may establish business operations to implement and promote its objec-tives under the Constitution. It may also take out memberships and acquire equity in-vestments.

Since the association's foundation in 1998, the accounting environment has changed on a large scale. Even though the globalisation of accounting standards was already conceivable back then, the pace in which the change took place was underestimated. Especially the de-velopments at European level in recent years led to more effort on international tasks.

The ASCG finances its activities from membership fees and donations as well as licensing, publications and other revenues.

 


2.3. The Governing Bodies and Standing Committees of the ASCG

2.3.1 The General Assembly


The General Assembly, which takes place once a year, is amongst others responsible for electing, withdrawing, and dismissing the members of the Administrative Board and the Nomination Committee, determining the amount of the annual fee, the business plan, adopting the annual financial statements, and amending and supplementing the constitution.

All legal persons and all associations of persons that are subject to the statutory duty to prepare financial statements or that are involved in accounting and financial reporting may become a member of the Association. Because the membership structure is designed to represent the different interests of the parties involved in accounting and financial reporting in the general economic interest, each member is allocated to one of the following segments:

  • publicly traded industrial companies and associations (Segment “A”);

  • non-publicly traded industrial companies and associations (Segment “B”);

  • banks and associations (Segment “C”);

  • insurance undertakings and associations (Segment “D”);

  • the accounting and auditing profession and associations (Segment “E”).

 

2.3.2 The Administrative Board

The Administrative Board has 20 members who are elected by the General Assembly for a three-year term of office.

The members of the Administrative Board are elected by segment. The ten persons pro-posed who receive the most votes in the General Assembly are elected from the persons proposed by Segment A. The same applies to Segments B and D, except that in these cas-es the two persons who receive the most votes in the General Assembly are elected, and to Segments C and E, except that in these cases the three persons who receive the most votes in the General Assembly are elected.

The Administrative Board defines the principles and guidelines for the work of the Associa-tion, and in particular of the technical committees and the Executive Committee, taking the general economic interest into account. It elects the members of the technical committees; it appoints, advises and supervises the Executive Committee.


2.3.3 The Nomination Committee

The Nomination Committee comprises seven members who are elected by the General As-sembly. It has at least one representative of each segment (Article 4(1)), provided that at least one member is allocated to each segment. The members are elected by the General Assembly for a three-year term of office.

The Nomination Committee submits proposals to the Administrative Board for the election of the members of the Executive Committee and the technical committees.

 


2.4.4 The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee comprises the President and the Vice-President. The members of the Executive Committee are elected by the Administrative Board for three years at the proposal of the Nomination Committee.

The Executive Committee manages the business of the Association. The President and the Vice-President represent the Association and the technical committees and their work externally. They are the legal representatives of the Association in accord-ance with section 26 of the BGB.

 


2.4.5 The IFRS and German GAAP Committees

The IFRS and the German GAAP Committees are each composed of seven mem-bers with particular specialist expertise and experience in the field of accounting and financial reporting. They conduct their honorary activities independently in line with the principles and guidelines laid down by the Administrative Board. The technical committees are chaired by the president and vice president respectively without a right to vote.

Subject to a public consultation process, the technical committees develop the following technical statements, partly supported by the established working groups:

  • Interpretation of the international accounting standards according to § 315a of the German Commercial Code (HGB);

  • German Accounting Standards according to § 342 of the German Commercial Code (HGB);

  • comment letters to national and international addressee regarding accounting questions and

  • discussion papers, other comments and publications.

 

2.4.6 The Academic Advisory Board

The Administrative Board may establish an Academic Advisory Board that advises the technical committees without being a technical committee itself.

 

 

Important Documents

 

Articles of Govern Body

 


Copyright © 1999-2021, Deutsches Rechnungslegungs Standards Committee (DRSC) e.V. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

DRSC Logo

 

 

Organisation und Ziele

 

 

1 Überblick
2 Das DRSC
2.1 Allgemeines
2.2 Die Ziele des DRSC
2.3 Die Organe und Gremien des DRSC
2.3.1 Die Mitgliederversammlung
2.3.2 Der Verwaltungsrat
2.3.3 Der Nominierungsausschuss
2.3.4 Das Präsidium
2.3.5 IFRS- und HGB-Fachausschuss
2.3.6 Der Wissenschaftsbeirat





1. Überblick

Im November 1995 verabschiedete die EU-Kommission ihre Rechnungslegungsstrategie und stellte damit die Weichen für die künftige Rechnungslegung in Europa. Dabei ist das erklärte Ziel, einen wettbewerbsfähigen europäischen Kapitalmarkt zu schaffen. Im Rahmen dieser Strategie wurden in den letzten Jahren mehrere Maßnahmen ergriffen und Verlautbarungen veröffentlicht.

Die zunehmende Bedeutung der internationalen Kapitalmärkte für deutsche Unternehmen und Konzerne veranlasste bereits 1998 den deutschen Gesetzgeber, Möglichkeiten für eine stärkere Annäherung der deutschen Rechnungslegungsvorschriften an die internationalen Grundsätze zu eröffnen. Um eine größere Flexibilität für die Weiterentwicklung der Rechnungslegung und ihre schnellere Anpassung an neue Erfordernisse zu gewährleisten, sollte auf Wunsch des Gesetzgebers ein privates, mit unabhängigen Fachleuten besetztes Gremium tätig werden. Damit sollte die Entwicklung der Rechnungslegungsgrundsätze als Selbstverwaltungsaufgabe durch einen unabhängigen Standardsetzer vorangetrieben werden. § 342 HGB stellt die gesetzliche Grundlage für eine solche Einrichtung dar.

Als nationale Standardisierungsorganisation wurde das Deutsche Rechnungslegungs Standards Committee (DRSC) geschaffen, das mit Vertrag vom 3. September 1998 durch das Bundesministerium der Justiz (BMJ) als privates Rechnungslegungsgremium im Sinne von § 342 HGB anerkannt wurde. Mit dem Standardisierungsvertrag vom 2. Dezember 2011 wurde der Deutsche Rechnungslegungs Standards Committee e.V. (DRSC) durch das Bundesministerium der Justiz (BMJ) erneut als zuständige Standardisierungsorganisation für Deutschland anerkannt. Im Standardisierungsvertrag verpflichtet sich das DRSC, ein unabhängiges Rechnungslegungsgremium (die Fachausschüsse) vorzuhalten, auf das die Aufgaben nach § 342 Abs. 1 HGB zu übertragen und es zu finanzieren.

 


2. Das DRSC

2.1. Allgemeines

Das Deutsche Rechnungslegungs Standards Committee (DRSC) wurde 1998 als Standardisierungsorganisation geschaffen und ist seitdem Träger der Fachgremien. Das DRSC ist ein eingetragener, selbstlos tätiger Verein mit Sitz in Berlin.

 

 

2.2. Die Ziele des DRSC

Gemäß der Satzung des DRSC verfolgt die Arbeit des Vereins vor allem die folgenden Ziele:

  1. Zweck des Vereins ist im gesamtwirtschaftlichen Interesse

    1. die Entwicklung von Empfehlungen zur Anwendung der Grundsätze über die Konzernrechnungslegung;

    2. die Beratung bei Gesetzgebungsvorhaben auf nationaler und EU-Ebene zu Rechnungslegungsvorschriften;

    3. die Vertretung der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in internationalen Gremien der Rechnungslegung;

    4. die Erarbeitung von Interpretationen der internationalen Rechnungslegungsstandards im Sinne von § 315a Abs. 1 HGB;

    5. die Erhöhung der Qualität der Rechnungslegung;

    6. die Förderung der Forschung und Ausbildung in den vorgenannten Bereichen.

  2. Der Verein dient den satzungsmäßigen Zielen seiner Mitglieder im Rahmen seines Zwecks. Er erfüllt seinen Zweck als Berufsverband für seine Mitglieder.

  3. Der Verein ist selbstlos tätig. Er verfolgt nicht in erster Linie eigenwirtschaftliche Ziele. Die Erlöse aus der Verwertung seiner Arbeit sind nur für die satzungsmäßigen Zwecke zulässig.

  4. Der Verein kann zur Verwirklichung satzungsmäßiger Zwecke und zu deren Förderung wirtschaftliche Geschäftsbetriebe gründen. Er darf auch Mitgliedschaften eingehen und Beteiligungen erwerben.

Seit der Gründung des Vereins 1998 hat sich das Rechnungslegungsumfeld in großem Umfang verändert. Obwohl bereits damals die Globalisierung der Rechnungslegungsvorschriften absehbar war, wurde die Geschwindigkeit, mit der sich dieser Wandel vollzieht, unterschätzt. Vor allem die Entwicklungen auf europäischer Ebene in den letzten Jahren haben dazu geführt, dass sich das Arbeitsprogramm des DRSC stärker den internationalen Aufgaben widmet.

Das DSRC finanziert seine Tätigkeit aus den Mitgliedsbeiträgen und Spenden sowie durch Lizenzvergabe, Veröffentlichungen und sonstige Einnahmen.

 


2.3. Die Organe und Gremien des DRSC

2.3.1 Die Mitgliederversammlung


Die Mitgliederversammlung, die einmal jährlich stattfindet, beschließt unter anderem über die Wahl, Abberufung und Entlastung der Mitglieder des Verwaltungsrats und des Nominierungsausschusses, die Festsetzung der Höhe des Jahresbeitrags, den Wirtschaftsplan, die Feststellung des Jahresabschlusses sowie über Satzungsänderungen.

Mitglied des Vereins kann jede juristische Person und jede Personenvereinigung werden, die der gesetzlichen Pflicht zur Rechnungslegung unterliegt oder sich mit der Rechnungslegung befasst. Da die Mitgliederstruktur im gesamtwirtschaftlichen Interesse die unterschiedlichen Belange der an der Rechnungslegung Beteiligten repräsentieren soll, wird jedes Mitglied einem der folgenden Segmente zugeordnet:

  • kapitalmarktorientierte Industrieunternehmen und Verbände (Segment „A“);

  • nichtkapitalmarktorientierte Industrieunternehmen und Verbände (Segment „B“);

  • Banken und Verbände (Segment „C“);

  • Versicherungen und Verbände (Segment „D“);

  • Wirtschaftsprüfung und Verbände (Segment „E“)

 

2.3.2 Der Verwaltungsrat

Der Verwaltungsrat hat 20 Mitglieder, die für die Dauer von drei Jahren von der Mitgliederversammlung gewählt werden.

Die Mitglieder des Verwaltungsrates werden nach Segmenten gewählt. Von den Personalvorschlägen des Segmentes A sind die zehn Personen gewählt, die von den Personalvorschlägen dieses Segments die meisten Stimmen der Mitgliederversammlung erhalten. Dies gilt entsprechend für die Segmente B und D mit der Maßgabe, dass jeweils die zwei Personen mit den meisten Stimmen der Mitgliederversammlung gewählt sind, für die Segmente C und E mit der Maßgabe, dass die drei Personen mit den meisten Stimmen der Mitgliederversammlung gewählt sind.

Der Verwaltungsrat legt unter Berücksichtigung des gesamtwirtschaftlichen Interesses die Grundsätze und Leitlinien für die Arbeit des Vereins, insbesondere der Fachausschüsse und des Präsidiums fest. Er wählt die Mitglieder der Fachausschüsse; er bestellt, berät und überwacht das Präsidium.


2.3.3 Der Nominierungsausschuss

Der Nominierungsausschuss hat sieben Mitglieder, die von der Mitgliederversammlung gewählt werden. Er hat mindestens je einen Vertreter der Segmente (§ 4 Abs. 1), soweit mindestens ein Mitglied dem jeweiligen Segment zugeordnet ist. Die Mitglieder werden für jeweils drei Jahre von der Mitgliederversammlung gewählt.

Der Nominierungsausschuss unterbreitet dem Verwaltungsrat Vorschläge für die Wahl der Mitglieder des Präsidiums und der Fachausschüsse.

 


2.4.4 Das Präsidium

Das Präsidium besteht aus dem Präsidenten und dem Vizepräsidenten. Die Mitglieder des Präsidiums werden vom Verwaltungsrat auf Vorschlag des Nominierungsausschusses für drei Jahre gewählt

Das Präsidium führt die Geschäfte des Vereins. Der Präsident und der Vizepräsident vertreten den Verein und die Fachausschüsse und deren Arbeit nach außen. Sie sind die gesetzlichen Vertreter des Vereins gemäß § 26 BGB.

 


2.4.5 IFRS- und HGB-Fachausschuss

Der IFRS- und der HGB-Fachausschuss bestehen aus jeweils sieben Mitgliedern, die über besondere Fachkompetenz und Erfahrung auf dem Gebiet der Rechnungslegung verfügen. Sie üben ihre ehrenamtliche Tätigkeit unter Berücksichtigung der vom Verwaltungsrat festgestellten Grundsätze und Leitlinien unabhängig aus. Die Fachausschüsse werden vom Präsidenten bzw. Vizepräsidenten ohne Stimmrecht geleitet.

Unter Einhaltung eines öffentlichen Konsultationsprozesses erarbeiten die Fachausschüsse, teilweise mit Unterstützung der durch sie eingerichteten Arbeitsgruppen, folgende fachlichen Verlautbarungen:

  • Interpretationen der internationalen Rechnungslegungsstandards im Sinne von § 315a HGB;

  • Rechnungslegungsstandards im Sinne von § 342 HGB;

  • Stellungnahmen gegenüber nationalen und internationalen Adressaten zu Fragen der Rechnungslegung und

  • Diskussionspapiere, sonstige Stellungnahmen und Veröffentlichungen.

 

2.4.6 Wissenschaftsbeirat

Der Verwaltungsrat kann einen Wissenschaftsbeirat einrichten, der, ohne selbst Fachausschuss zu sein, die Fachausschüsse berät.

 

 

Wichtige Dokumente

 

Satzung

 


Copyright © 1999-2021, Deutsches Rechnungslegungs Standards Committee (DRSC) e.V. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.